Free Consultation 508-502-7002
Underage OUI/DUI

Underage OUI Lawyers in Massachusetts

Helping Minors Under 21 Fight Their DUI Charges in Southborough & Beyond

While adults over the age of 21 need a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher in order to get an OUI charge, in minors under the age of 21, a BAC of 0.02% is all it takes to get charged with a DUI or OUI. That means an underage driver doesn't have to be intoxicated in order to be charged; in fact, a 0.02% BAC is often reached after just one alcoholic drink.

With such slim margins for error in test results and a zero tolerance policy for underage drivers, you need to make sure you get powerhouse defense attorneys on your side. At Miller Law Group, P.C., we have nearly a century of combined experience with which to fight for you or your child's future. We know what is at stake, and we are here to protect your rights and driver's license, as well as education and career opportunities.

Juvenile Operator Law & the Penalties You're Up Against

In Massachusetts, a first-time underage OUI conviction could mean up to 2.5 years' incarceration, up to $5,000 in fines, and one year with a suspended driver's license. In such cases, however, especially with a good defense lawyer, it is possible to avoid jail time altogether, and to negotiate the fine down to $500, as well as the license suspension down to 180 days or so. These penalties are for a BAC of 0.02% or somewhat higher. If the underage driver's BAC is 0.08% or higher, then they could be looking at the same penalties as an older driver for OUI sentencing.

If a driver is charged with OUI while also under the age of 18, and they are found to have a 0.02% BAC or higher, then the normal 180-day license suspension for a first-time underage DUI gets upped to a full year without a license. It is possible though for a lawyer to negotiate getting treatment instead to avoid this, though this is only possible for a first-time charge.

Under Juvenile Operator Law, there is also implied consent, which means that any refusal to take a blood or breath test is going to affect how long the driver's license is suspended. For a first-time refusal to take a breath or chemical test, an underage driver gets their license suspended for 3 years. A second refusal means 5 years of license suspension. After a third refusal, it's a lifetime driver's license suspension.

Request Your Free Underage OUI Consultation Today

Our Southborough defense lawyers are ready to hear your case and help you find the best course of action to protect your future from drugged or drunk driving charges. Miller Law Group, P.C. brings the trial-tested, experienced representation that can help you get these charges reduced or even dismissed. Get our world-class legal advocates on your side today.

Call (508) 502-7002 to reach our underage DUI defense attorneys or go online to schedule a free case review.

Our underage OUI attorneys are honored to help young clients throughout Massachusetts, including in Beverly, Cambridge, Plymouth, Quincy, Woburn, Worcester, and beyond, with offices located in Southborough, Mansfield, Burlington, Danvers, and Dedham.

  • "You can bet that your firm has a customer for life."

  • "I appreciated your transparency and ability to manage the court room."

    Robert B.
  • "I interviewed many attorneys for my divorce case and knew that I made the right decision the moment I spoke with my attorney from your firm."
    Anonymous Father
Why Choose Our Firm Give Yourself a Strong Chance of Success

With Miller Law Group by your side, we will do whatever it takes to fight for your freedom.

  • We've Handled Hundreds of Cases
  • We Have Almost 100 Years of Combined Experience
  • We're Dedicated to World-Class Experience
  • We Have Multiple Convenient Meeting Locations
Free Consultations Available

Contact Our Offices

Ready to get started? Our legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (508) 502-7002.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.